Reset Location and Privacy Permissions

I have been doing some testing of the different ways that iOS 8 prompts the user for permission to privacy data. For example, when an application requests access to location data or to have access to the camera. The first time you install and run the app the user is prompted to grant the access:

Regardless of how the user responds they are never prompted again. If they want to change the preference they need to do it from the system settings:

It can sometimes be useful to reproduce that initial experience with the dialog prompt. Unfortunately the system setting persists across app deletion and reinstall. Deleting the app appears to remove the setting but as soon as you reinstall the privacy setting returns.

Reset Location & Privacy

The solution to get back to that initial state is to be found under General > Reset. Use the Reset Location & Privacy option and the next run will again prompt the user.

Never miss a post

iOS Size Classes Cheat Sheet

Subscribe and also get my free iOS Size Classes Cheat Sheet

Success! Now check your email to confirm your subscription and download your free guide to iOS Size Classes.

There was an error submitting your subscription. Please try again.

Unsubscribe at any time. See Privacy Policy
No time to watch WWDC videos?

Sign up to get my iOS posts and news direct to your inbox and also get my free iOS Size Classes Cheat Sheet

OK! Check your inbox (or spam folder) for an email to confirm your details and download your free guide to iOS Size Classes.

There was an error submitting your subscription. Please try again.

Unsubscribe at any time. See Privacy Policy
Archives Categories